Join the Philippine Historical Association!
Educators, researchers, cultural heritage workers and other professionals who are interested in the study, teaching and promotion of Philippine history and culture, are welcome to join the PHA.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Philippine Historical Association elects Luis Dery as new president

Historian LUIS CAMARA DERY of the History Department of De La Salle University Manila was elected president of the Philippine Historical Association at the general assembly of the association held on January 27, 2013 at the University of Santo Tomas, Manila.

Dr. Dery finished his academic degrees from the University of the Philippines, Diliman: B.S. Education, major in history, 1970; M.A. teaching, major in social studies, 1971; Ph. D. in history, 1987.  His researches on Philippine political and socio-cultural history have been published in various national and international publications.  Some of his books include: From Ibalon to Sorsogon: A Historical Survey of Sorsogon Province to 1905 (1991); The Kris in Philippine History: A Study of the Impact of Moro Anti-Colonial Resistance, 1571-1896 (1997); Awit Kay Inang Bayan: Ang Larawan ng Pilipinas Ayon sa mga Tula't Kundiman na Kinatha Noong Panahon ng Himagsikan (2003); Pestilence in the Philippines: A Social History of the Filipino People 1571-1800 (2006); When the World Loved the Filipinos and Other Historical Essays (2006). His latest book Bantayog ni Inang Bayan: Panibagong Sulyap sa mga Bayani ng Himagsikang 1896 (2012) presents new details on historical personalities of the 1896 Philippine Revolution.

The following elected officers and members of the PHA Board of Trustess will serve until August 2014.

L-R: Dr Songco, Dr Muhi, Mr. Ong, Mr. Balsamo, Dr Dery, Dr Boncan and Dr Miranda

President         :       DR. LUIS CAMARA DERY, De La Salle University Manila
Vice President :       DR. EVELYN A. SONGCO, University of Santo Tomas
Secretary         :      MR. JONATHAN C. BALSAMO, Museo Valenzuela, Valenzuela City
Treasurer         :       DR. EVELYN A. MIRANDA, University of the Philippines Diliman (retired)
Board Members:     DR. CELESTINA P. BONCAN, University of the Philippines Manila
                               DR. ESTRELLITA MUHI, University of the East (retired)
                               PROF. JEROME A. ONG, University of the Philippines Manila

Sunday, January 6, 2013

PHA 2013 General Assembly and Board Election

Philippine Historical Association

January 5, 2013

Dear Members,

The Philippine Historical Association (PHA) will hold a General Assembly on Sunday January 27, 2013 from 8:00-11:00am at the Tan Yan Kee Building, University of Santo Tomas, Manila to approve proposed amendments to the PHA By-Laws and to hold elections for a new Board.

The program is as follows:

8:00-9:00         Registration

9:00-10:00       PART I:          BUSINESS MEETING
                        1.         Report of the President
                        2.         Report of the Treasurer
                        3.         Presentation of Proposed Amendments to the PHA By-Laws
                        4.         Vote on Proposed Amendments to the PHA By-Laws

10:00-10:15     PART II:         PRESIDENTIAL LECTURE
                        “Muslim Raids in Tayabas in the 18th Century” by Dr. Celestina P. Boncan

10:15-11:00     PART III:       ELECTION OF NEW PHA BOARD

11:00               PART IV:       FELLOWSHIP

There will be a registration fee of PhP 100 for the snacks.
We look forward to your attendance.